Honda Goes Retro With Bueller…

“Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”. One of the best movies to ever see daylight during the 80’s. I learned a lot from that movie, especially how to ditch school regularly and while I may never have taken a joyride in a stolen Ferrari (it’s still on my bucket list), the adventures of the titular character have stayed with me since my first viewing of the movie.

Honda clearly have realised that the target market for their 2012 CRV were probably fans of the movie back in the day. So they’ve reworked it into an ad for the 2012 Superbowl. Natch.

Yeah. I don’t know. I really, really wanted to like it. Really I did. Sadly, no such luck. The ad is weak and feels forced. There are some nice touches…like the soundtrack (WHOOP!) and the re-imagining of the parade scene but the rest…just contrived. And where’s Cameron!? I don’t know what the greater opinion on this ad will be but it’s a miss for me. And more’s the tragedy since it could have been an epic brandslam. Maybe next year…

Leave a Reply

