Shiny Horny People…

Apparently, this detergent ad from the States had feminists frothing at the mouth (See what I did there?). Something about it being sexist and even encouraging rape or some such. Anyway, the ad has been pulled. Here’s what all the brouhaha is over:

I don’t see it but then I am technically a rapist according to Marilyn French (No. I didn’t hyperlink it. Google her, dammit. Do something for yourself for a change. Sheesh) by virtue of my Y-chromosome and my heterosexuality.

At any rate, I think this ad would have been funnier if it was a guy in the shower instead. And the bubbles were voiced by women.

Wait. Does that statement make me sexist?

3 thoughts on “Shiny Horny People…

  1. Hi

    The article that sparked my blog post can be found here:
    http://adage.com/article?article_id=140830
    (I found the comments that followed the article of much interest)

    Actually, while I agree the ad is little creepy, for me this whole thing has a rather Motrin flavour to it.
    And having said that, let me also say (before people start readying their pitchforks) that I don’t condone sexual abuse or assault at all.

    I’m just asking:
    1) why all the fuss around some bubbles?
    2) do these people watch the news?
    3) would we feel the same if it was a guy in the shower?

    Devil’s advocate and all that.

Leave a Reply

