Make me an offer I can’t refuse…

You want a kitty? You WANT a kitty.    

You want a kitty? You WANT a kitty.

The Godfather. It’s a legendary movie. A young Al Pacino, an aging Marlon Brando, James Caan well on his way to becoming the toughest guy in Hollywood… it’s all there. There’s even that immortal line “I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse.”

That line is uttered by Brando shortly before he sends his consiglieri to Hollywood to sort out a little problem. The “offer” is basically a blackmail tactic: “do this thing for me and I’ll go away. Capish?” Of course, the guy in question refuses and he wakes up to find his horse (minus everything from it’s neck down) sharing his bed.

That’s one way to get a response, but probably no return business.

Anyway…

“I’m gonna make him an offer he can’t refuse”.

It’s a killer line, one that’s gone down in history. In fact, it was placed 2nd on the American Film Institute’s list of Top 100 Movie Lines.

These days we’re exposed to so many offers from so many brands. So knowing that there’s all this mess, why do brands insist on sending out sub-par marketing communication? I can cite a plethora of examples (there’s a TV ad for a disinfectant that just chews my nerves) but that will just make me sad, Patsy (obscure Holy Grail reference). Brando’s line should be the point of departure for every piece of marketing and advertising communication that goes out from your brand. So make your brand stand out. Make offers that your consumers can’t refuse. Make the offers sincere. Make the offers often. Make sure you follow up on the responses…promptly.

It’s that simple.  Really.

One thought on “Make me an offer I can’t refuse…

  1. phr0ggi …

    I just wanted to let you know that I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog!! I love the 30-second angle (totally fits in with both my busy schedule and my ADD lol!)

    And not only is your content original and informative, but your writing style is both fresh and “real” (for want of a better word.) Your ever-so-slight hint of cynicism resonates with me too 😀

    Good going phr0ggi … thanks for a great resource!

Leave a Reply

